The IVI–IPO has been in existence since 1944. It has been dedicated to good government activism and an idealistic vision of open, honest government in Illinois through pragmatic means that confront cynicism and corruption with equal force. The organization’s primary tools are voter’s registration, voter information and candidate endorsement. We also lobby on behalf of governmental reforms designed to open the system and better inform the public on the political process.

The IVI–IPO is a not-for-profit, multi-partisan, independent political organization. Our endorsements reach hundreds of thousands of voters throughout the greater Chicagoland area. Our work on campaign finance and ethics reform in the past and in the present has gotten high marks from all quarters and our commitment to good government is as strong now as it has ever been.

IVI-IPO Mission Statement

IVI-IPO’s mission is to achieve social justice through good government by increasing voter participation and knowledge, by providing a framework for candidate evaluation, and by electing responsive government officials.

IVI-IPO Constitution

IVI-IPO Constitution Revised 2009.pdf

IVI-IPO Bylaws

IVI Bylaws Revised0 8-25-2021.pdf

IVI-IPO Standing Rules

IVI Standing Rules.pdf

IVI-IPO 2022-23 Board of Directors


Jim Garfield *

State Chair

Willie Mack *

Administrative Vice Chair

Betty Magness*

Program Vice Chair

David K. Igasaki *


Aviva Miriam Patt *


Committee Chairs

Jesus Salazar *

Political Action Chair

Hilda Frontany *

Membership Chair

Josef Michael Carr, Jr. *

Finance Chair

Stephen Stern

Legislative Action Chair

John Arena

Community Action/Municipal Affairs Chair

Charles Paidock

National Affairs Chair

* Steering Committee Member

Board of Directors

At Large Delegates

David Mihalyfy

Delores Robinson

Vince Sanchez

Alternate At Large Delegates

First Alternate: Wendy Williams**

Second Alternate: David Robinson

South Chapter

Chapter Chair: Aldolphus "Al" Kindle

Vice Chair: Elizabeth Scott

Chapter Delegates:

Robert Carroll

Tyrone Forman

Michael Radzilowsky**

First Alternate: Wendy Williams

Far North Chapter

Chapter Chair: Jane Bannor

Vice Chair: Herb Ziegeldorf

Unorganized Areas

Delegate: Bapu Arekapudi