Join our Email list:

Please patronize our advertisers!

Archived 60th IDD Page


IVI-IPO is celebrating its 60th anniversary this year. This year's Indy Day event will be a commemoration of our organization, its founding, and its founding members.

The 60th Anniversary Independents' Day Dinner will be

  • Monday, July 19, 2004 from 6- 8PM
  • at the Hot House, 31 E Balbo, Chicago,
There will be a buffet dinner and cash bar, silent auction, entertainment circa 1944, capped by awards presentations and lively anectodes from some of our organization's founders.

IDD invitation [PDF]  

Cliff Kelley will be this year's MC. See the center column for this year's IDD awardees. The IDD committee members are listed in the right-hand column.

Check the IVI-IPO Calendar  for other upcoming events!

Interested in becoming a voters' registrar? Call the IVI-IPO office: 312-939-5105

* You need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view newsletters and other documents.
For a free copy of this software go to Adobe's download page.

IVI-IPO's National Affairs Committee now has its own committee website at
with information about the next committee meeting and membership.

This year's awardees are:
  • Legal Eagle Award: Patricia Logue and Paul Smith
    Leon Despres Award: Congresswoman Jan Schakowsky Barbara Merrill-Rudy Lozano Award:
    HERE Local #1, Henry Tamarin, President
    Harold Washington Award:
    • Illinois Coalition for Immigrant & Refugee Rights
    • Chicagoans Against War and Injustice
    Kit Pfau Award: State Representative Robin Kelly
  • Saul Mendelson Award: Carol Steele
In honor of our 60th anniversary, tickets are $60, a reduction from recent years.

 Our thanks to the IVI-IPO 60th Anniversary
Independence Day Dinner
Gessler, Hughes, Socol, Piers
   Resnick & Dym

Jenner & Block
Hon. John Cullerton, Hon. Sara Feigenholtz, Hon. Tom Tunney & Hon. Mike Quigley

Hon. Walter Burnett
Christine Cegelis
Hon. David Fagus & Hon. Joe Moore
SEIU 880

David Canter, Hon. Leslie Hairston,
David Igasaki, Art Johnston,
Hon. Richard Gordon, Hon. Ric Munoz,
Hon. Toni Preckwinkle, Janet Rowland,
Hon. Ira Silverstein, Hon. Jesse White


  IDD Event Committee  
  • Co-Chairs
    Prof. Timuel Black
    Hon. Leon Despres
    Hon. Dick Simpson

    Hon. Clem Balanoff
    Michael Bauer
    Bernice Bild
    Karen Boehning
    Hon. Woody Bowman
    Lula Bronson
    Hon. Dorothy Brown
    Barbara Burchjolla
    David Canter
    Hon. Rey Colón
    Hon. John Cullerton
    Hon. Barbara Flynn Currie  
    Lois Dobry
    Hon. Dick Durbin
    Hon. Rahm Emanuel
    Hon. Sara Feigenholtz
    Hilda Frontany
    Hon. Leslie A. Hairston
    Connie Hall
    Marshall Holleb
    Hon. James Houlihan
    David K. Igasaki
    Hon. Jesse L. Jackson, Jr.  
    Rev. Jesse L. Jackson, Sr.  
    Keith Kelleher
    Kitty Kurth
    Kevin Lamm
    Hon. Lou Lang
    Norman Lasko
    Hon. Terry Link
    Hon. Lisa Madigan
    C. Betty Magness
    Hon. Roberto Maldonado
    Hon. Bob Mann
    Hon. Iris Martinez
    James P. Masini
    Hon. Abner J. Mikva
    Helen Miller
    Hon. Joe Moore
    Hon. Carol Moseley-Braun
    Hon. Ricardo Muñoz
    Hon. Elaine Nekritz
    Hon. Dawn Clark Netsch
    Hon. Barack Obama
    Hon. David Orr
    Hon. Maria Pappas
    Hon. Toni Preckwinkle
    Sue Purrington
    Hon. Mike Quigley
    Hon. Carol Ronen
    James Shapiro
    Hon. Helen Shiller
    Hon. Sonia Silva
    Leslie Gryce Sturino
    Hon. Larry Suffredin
    Alice Tregay
    Hon. Tom Tunney
    Rich Whitehead
    Betty Willhoite
    Herb Ziegeldorf


Your Home For Good Government Since 1944
Contact Us!
1325 S. Wabash, Suite 105
Chicago, IL  60605
Voice: 312-939-5105
Fax: 312-939-3315